Baltic nations say they will refuse refuge to Russians fleeing mobilization

Latvia’s Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics speaks during a news conference in Riga, Latvia September 8, 2022. REUTERS/Ints Kalnins/File Photo

Register now for FREE unlimited access to

VILNIUS, Sept 21 (Reuters) – European Union members Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia, which border Russia, will not offer refuge to any Russians fleeing Moscow’s mobilization of troops, their ministers said on Wednesday.

One-way flights out of Russia were rocketing in price and selling out fast as President Vladimir Putin ordered the immediate call-up of 300,000 reservists. read more

“A refusal to fulfill one’s civic duty in Russia or a desire to do so does not constitute sufficient grounds for being granted asylum in another country”, Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said in an email to Reuters.

Register now for FREE unlimited access to

On Twitter, Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics cited security concerns for the refusal. The Lithuanian Interior Ministry said each asylum case would be weighted separately.

The three countries, and Poland, began turning away Russian citizens from their borders at midnight on Monday, saying they should not travel while their country is at war with Ukraine. read more

The ban excludes Russian dissidents seeking refuge in the EU along with lorry drivers, refugees and permanent residents of EU countries as well as those visiting close family members.

Register now for FREE unlimited access to

Reporting by Andrius Sytas, editing by Terje Solsvik and Grant McCool

Our Standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *