PlayStation Announces a Summer State of Play Broadcast … and It’s Very Soon

Sony has announced a summer State of Play broadcast – showing off upcoming PlayStation 5 and PlayStation VR2 games – and it’s coming very soon, on Thursday, June 2.

The State of Play will air for just under half an hour, starting at 3pm Pacific / 6pm Eastern / 11pm UK (that’s June 3 at 8am AEST).

The show promises reveals from Sony’s third-party partners and “a sneak peek at several games in development for PlayStation VR2”. It does not sound as though PlayStation first-party exclusives will be a huge part of this particular broadcast.

It’s worth noting that Sony has recently distinguished between its State of Play broadcasts – shorter broadcasts, with announcements often grouped along a theme – and its PlayStation Showcase event.

The digital Showcase replaced what used to Sony’s in-person E3 conference, typically its biggest and most notable reveal of upcoming games and announcements. Last year, Sony waited until September for its full Showcase, which included the first gameplay of God of War: Ragnarok, teases for Insomniac’s Spider-Man 2 and Wolverine games, a Knights of the Old Republic remake, and much more.

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News. Follow him on Twitter. Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.