Hogwarts Legacy Will Get a State of Play Broadcast This Week

Hogwarts Legacy, the upcoming open world game set in the world of Harry Potter, will get a PlayStation State of Play broadcast this Thursday, March 17th.

The broadcast will include “an extended first look at gameplay”, and begins at 2pm Pacific / 5pm Eastern / 9pm UK (that’s March 18 at 8am AEDT). It will be shown on PLayStation’s Twitch and YouTube channels.

The show will run for around 20 minutes, 14 minutes of which will be made up of gameplay captured on PS5. The rest of the show will be made up of “insight from a few team members at Avalanche Software who are bringing the Wizarding World to life.”

After being leaked in 2018 and announced in 2020, the game was delayed to 2022. Since that delay, we’ve heard very little about the game, leading to publisher Warner Bros. repeatedly saying that the game is still due to arrive this year. We’ve previously heard that the game could arrive after the next Fantastic Beasts movie, but this showcase might give us a more specific date.

Set in the 1800s, the game will see a custom character thrown into the world of Hogwarts, allowing players to take part in lessons, being a part of the sorting hat ceremony, visiting the town of Hogsmeade, and more. While it’s partnered with PlayStation for this revealing event, the game is aiming for release on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, and PC.

The game has stirred up discussion over its connection to Harry Potter author JK Rowling, who has become notable in recent years for her transphobic comments. Warner Bros. has said the author is not directly involved with the game, but leadership has said “she’s entitled to express her personal opinion”. Reports have since suggested that the game will allow for transgender characters to be created.

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News. Follow him on Twitter. Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *